Daily Deals: The Sleeping Night and Kitty Cat, Kitty Cat, Are You Waking Up? and Dungeon Scroll

The Sleeping NightToday Amazon offers The Sleeping Night by Barbara Samuel just for $1.99

A triumphant tale of forbidden love that will delight Barbara Samuel’s many romance fans while tackling the serious issue of racism in our not-so-distant past.

An unforgettable romance in an unforgiving time.

They’ll need love and courage to see the dawn.

He’s a hometown native, returning from the war, determined to change the world he’d fought to protect. She’s the girl who’s been his secret friend since childhood, now a beautiful woman.

Her war-time letters kept him alive. But he’s black, and she’s white.In 1946 in Gideon, Texas, their undeniable love might get them both killed.B

arbara Samuel is a multiple award-winning author with more than 38 books to her credit in a variety of genres. Her work has captured a plethora of awards, including six RITAs; the Colorado Center for the Book Award (twice); Favorite Book of the Year from Romance Writers of America, and the Library Journal’s list of Best Genre Fiction of the year, among many others.

Some words about the Author

When she was 15, Barbara Samuel wrote in her diary that she wanted to “write books, see the world, and be happy.” She’s delighted to be still working on all three.

The beloved romance and women’s fiction writer has won the highly prestigious RITA award from Romance Writers of America 7 times and has been recently inducted into the RWA Hall of Fame. In the tradition of Kristin Hannah, Susan Wiggs, Maeve Binchy, and Barbara Freethy, she writes a highly emotional stories about families, food, dogs, and love. Many of her novels include recipes, and she has been known to cook in response to any stressful situation, learning that cooking is like life–sometimes things go wrong, but if you keep trying, eventually you’ll get it right.

Kitty Cat, Kitty Cat, Are You Waking Up?Kitty Cat, Kitty Cat, Are You Waking Up? is another book offered by Amazon written by Bill Martin Jr.  and Laura J. Bryant.  The price is $1.99 today only.

“A dawdling kitten and her patient mother take part in a daily ritual that will be familiar to parents and children: “Kitty Cat, Kitty Cat, are you waking up? Not yet Mother, I’m a sleepy buttercup.” The two continue their back-and-forth exchange as Kitty Cat dilly-dallies and Mother urges her through each step of the morning routine and gets her off to school. Martin uses the repetitive formula that worked so well in Brown Bear, Brown Bear What Do you See? (1983) and, more recently, Baby Bear, Baby Bear, What Do You See? (2007, both Holt), but this time the cumulative questions actually advance a narrative. Kitty Cat is the star of her own show, romping across the pages, knowing that she will eventually get to where she needs to be. There is never a sense of urgency on Mother’s part, either, which makes the final line “Kitty Cat, Kitty Cat, now we have to go! Okay, Mother, I’m sorry I’m so slow” seem like an unexpected chastisement. The accompanying picture of mother and daughter sharing a warm hug helps to defuse the negativity. Bryant’s illustrations, rendered in watercolor and colored pencil, are playful, light, and absolutely adorable. This book is perfect for sharing one-on-one, preferably while snuggling.” — School Library Journal, July 2008

Some words about the Authors

Bill Martin Jr. (1916–2004) wrote many beloved books for children, some of which have become classics. He authored more than 200 titles in his lifetime, including Brown Bear, Brown Bear, What Do You See?; Polar Bear, Polar Bear, What Do You Hear?; and Panda Bear, Panda Bear, What Do You See? He also collaborated on a number of well-known books with author and education, Michael Sampson, including Chicka Chicka 1 2 3 and I Pledge Allegiance.

Michael Sampson lives with his family in Commerce, Texas. His picture books include Caddie the Golf Dog and Trick or Treat. When he’s not busy writing, he’s visiting schools and speaking at conferences. He and Bill Martin Jr revised the first edition of Chicken Chuck, originally published in 1946 and illustrated by Bill’s brother, Bernard Martin.

Laura J. Bryant studied drawing, painting, and print making at the Maryland Institute of Art, and is the illustrator of Where Fish Go in Winter: And Other Great Mysteries. She lives in the Shenandoah Mountains of West Virginia.


Dungeon ScrollDungeon Scroll is a game for your Kindle Fire. Today only you can get it for free.

If a word game and a dungeon crawler had a baby, this would be it. Arrange tiles to create magic words and blast rats, spiders and skeletons. But beware, a great evil looms beneath the depths.

Grab your wand and sharpen your intellect for you’re about to embark on a dangerous journey through twenty-five of the most vile dungeons in the realm!

• Installs to SD card
• Internet global scoring
• Orchestral soundtrack
• Select letters via touch or keyboard
• Shake to jumble can be disabled in options
• Game state save